SKITTLES: Pinups celebrate league title triumph

Go to Source

By Echo Reporter

PINUPS have been crowned champions of the Weymouth and Portland League for the 16th time.


The perennial winners collected their trophy at the league’s presentation evening, which was held at Wellworthy Sports and Social Club.


Pinups edged out Weymouth Wanderers by just a single point, but Wanderers didn’t end the campaign empty-handed.


They won the Knockout Cup after beating Wyke WMC Imps by seven pins in the final.


Diamonds were the winners of Ladies’ Division One, beating Wyke Orbits by a massive nine points, but Orbits did regain the Knockout Cup.


Wyke Social Yo-Yo’s earned the runners-up spot for the second year in a row.


Balti Red Cats won the Treasurer’s Cup, while last year’s winners Wyke Skylarks were runners-up.


In the men’s equivalent, the Secretary’s Cup final was a Division Two tussle where Red Barrels easily beat Wyke WMC Rollers.


Ladies’ pairs victory went to Candice Myatt and Hollie Bugler of Diamonds who beat team-mates Natalie Myatt and Gina Hartley.


In the men’s competition, Robbie Blues and Kevin Goddard of Wyke WMC Missorts triumphed over Nick Stanley and Dan Turner of New Inncomers.


In the mixed pairs, husband and wife Sue and Paul Perren (Socialites and Legionaires) beat the sister and brother team of Julia Scothern and John Lake (Muppets and Lucky Bar Stars).


Daryl Cowan, secretary of this year’s main sponsor Weymouth & Melcombe Regis Working Men’s Club, presented the trophies.



Pinups (Division One winners)


Diamonds (Ladies’ Division One winners)


Easy Beats (Ladies’ Division Two winners)


Park St Stars (Division Two winners)


New Inn Bees (Division Three winners)


New Inncomers (Division Four winners)


Atoms (Division Five winners)


Wyke Orbits (Ladies’ Knockout Cup winners)


Weymouth Wanderers (Knockout Cup winners)


Balti Red Cats (Treasurer’s Knockout Cup winners)


Red Barrels (Secretary’s Knockout Cup winners)


Ladies’ Pairs winners (Hollie Bugler & Candice Myatt, Diamonds)


Men’s Pairs winners (Kevin Goddard & Robbie Blues, Wyke WMC Missorts)


Mixed Pairs winners (Sue Perren, Socialites & Paul Perren, Legionaires)


Comments are closed.