High-voltage Formula E championship to feature electric cars in 2014

For all those people who think Formula One racing is wastage of extremely precious fossil fuel, a first fully electric auto racing championship will soon get a green flag.

The new championship will be designed on the lines of existing Formula 1, Indy Car Racing and christened as Formula E.


The electric-powered cars will be able to do 0 to 100 in 3 seconds.


The idea has been conceived to change the notion people have about electric cars as boring.


The cars will have a maximum speed of 250 kmph. The e-cars will be manufacture by the current constructors of the Formula One championship.


Already, the racing championship has some prominent backers, including business magnate Richard Branson and veteran auto racer Mario Andretti. Actor Leonardo DiCaprio has sponsored the Venturi team.


Formula E, officially the FIA Formula E Championship, is a class of auto racing, sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). The “formula”, designated in the name, refers to a set of rules with which all participants’ cars must comply. Formula E is intended to be the highest class of competition for one-make, single-seat, electrically-powered racing cars. The series was conceived in 2012, with the inaugural championship to be held in 2014–15.


Ten host cities are planning races for the 2014 season, and Formula E originally intended to run races exclusively on street circuits. However, not all races are now set for street circuits. On December 4, 2013, a calendar with 10 host cities for the 2014 season has been confirmed, which consists of Beijing, Putrajaya, Rio de Janeiro, Punta del Este, Buenos Aires, Los Angeles, Miami, Monte Carlo, Berlin and London. Berlin intends to race on a Tempelhof Airport circuit.

Comments are closed.