Tigers lose 2 early wickets

Go to Source

A full-strength Bangladesh side could not take advantage of an under-strength Indian opposition as the visitors drew the first blood in the three-ODI series.


Instead of the hosts, India fought the hour-long Pohela Ashar outpour today at Mirpur to reach their revised target of 151, required to be completed in 26 overs, with seven wickets and seven balls remaining.


Chasing a target of 273, India’s progress was halted by a burst of rainfall which left them stranded at a 100 for 1 after 16.4 overs.


The Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium however, lived up to its reputation of having one of the best drainage systems in the world and the game restarted two-and-a-half hours later. Shakib Al Hasan removed Cheteshwar Pujara in the second ball after resumption but a responsible knock from Ajinkya Rahane, who scored 64 before being caught sharply by Ziaur Rahman at short third man, helped India reach home.


Earlier Bangladesh today posted 272 for nine wickets in 50 overs.


Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and all rounder Shakib Al Hasan both smashed half-centuries guided the Tigers to the healthy score.


Mushfiq, who won the toss and opted to bat first, scored 59 off 63 balls while Shakib posted 52 from 58 balls before their departure.


Mushfiq, who seemed irresistible after the fall of early wickets of Tamim Iqbal and Mominul Haque within 34 runs, was caught by AM Rahane at the boundary at the first ball of 30th over.


Shakib claimed his 56th ODI half-century before he was caught and bowled by Indian Captain Suresh Raina at 199 for five wickets in 41.1overs.


Anamul at his 44 off 60 balls went back to the pavilion after being caught by AT Rayudu from a delivery of new comer Rasool at the very first ball of 22nd over.


Mahmudullah coming at number five also scored 41 from 44 balls for the home side.


Tail enders — Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza and Abdur Razzak – built the rest of the innings, with scoring 22, 18 and 16 runs respectively.


Earlier, Indian pacer Umesh Yadav broke the partnership early taking the first two wickets of Tamim for zero, and Mominul for six runs by the end of 11 overs.


Yadav got three wickets for 48 runs in nine overs, while Amit Mishra and Pervez Rasool bagged two wickets each for 55 and 60 runs.


Comments are closed.